My 32nd Birthday

25 Sep

On the weekend of August 18th, I celebrated my third year in the 30s. For the day of Saturday, August 17th, I invited my brother Brian and his wife, my sister-in-law Amanda, my brother Keith and his girlfriend Malorie, and our friends Meghan and Phil Baker and Liv Fahey. We spent the day at my beach house in Marshfield to mark my new birthday.

The day started with my Uncle Chuck’s brother-in-law Syd visiting my house with his standard labradoodle, Kishka. I went with Syd and Kishka for a visit to the South River in Rexhame, a section of Marshfield, to play with Kishka and throw sticks to her in the river. Kishka enjoys retrieving sticks that are thrown in the water and is a very friendly dog. Brian and Amanda arrived after I returned from the marshes near the South River. Brian, Amanda, Keith and Malorie all enjoyed meeting Kishka and loved her friendly nature.

Soon not long after, our friend Liv Fahey arrived at the house. This was her first time visiting the house, so we gave a tour of the house. She greatly enjoyed all the rooms in the house and loved the design and decor of the place. We then all to the beach for some hours to relax there and we also talked about the latest activities going in our lives with my cousin Elizabeth and her father Larry. We also took some walks on the beach as the weather was comfortable outside, not too hot nor too chilly.

We then went back to the house and started having appetizers, including buffalo chicken calzone from Crow Point Pizzeria in Hingham. Meghan and Phil Baker then arrived. They were so happy to see me on my birthday weekend and talked about how excited they were about getting a new golden retriever puppy named Archie in the fall. For supper, we had steak and scallops as the main course because it goes well as foods for the summer season. We all enjoyed the meal and considered it to be one of the best dinners we’ve had so far.

It was then time for everyone to sing “Happy Birthday” and for the candles to be blown out. The cake was a chocolate mint cake from Sweetcakes in Marshfield. Chocolate mint is one of my favorite cake flavors and this cake was really delicious. The birthday cards were all dog themed since I am an avid fan of dogs. The gifts I received included a book with dog themed social media pics, gift cards to Dunkin’, Starbucks, Best Buy and Amazon and some new clothes for the year. It was a truly fun day at the house in Marshfield and I always enjoy having people down the house on weekends in mid-August for my birthday.

25 Responses to “My 32nd Birthday”

  1. Uncle Chuck October 7, 2019 at 12:14 am #

    Hi Scott – It sounds like a wonderful birthday celebration to me!

  2. easearle October 9, 2019 at 4:13 am #

    Happy Birthday Scott- a lovely description of your day, full of the good things in life: family, food and dogs!

  3. Simone Dinnerstein October 9, 2019 at 10:40 am #

    Happy Birthday, Scott! Sounds idyllic!

  4. Katie Driscoll October 13, 2019 at 9:37 pm #

    You described such a great birthday to start your 32nd year. It’s so nice that you will have these words, along with the memory to look back on.

  5. Paul G October 15, 2019 at 9:15 pm #

    This was a great update Scott and thanks for sharing! Glad to see you’re still writing and enjoying life to the fullest. Best wishes and happy birthday!

  6. Cathy Ballou Mealey October 16, 2019 at 12:06 pm #

    Well done Scott. Thank you for sharing your celebration!

  7. degiacomo8 October 16, 2019 at 1:46 pm #

    What a great day Scott! You got to do a few of your favorite things!! My favorite picture is you with your birthday cake. It is very cool. Summer would love to walk on the beach but she does not sound as good a retriever as Kishka. Love the name by the way! Best wishes for the year ahead!

  8. Karen O’Brien October 16, 2019 at 6:42 pm #

    I am so glad you had a wonderful birthday! Hope to see you soon! Belated happy birthday!!!

  9. Valerie Murphy October 18, 2019 at 12:58 am #

    Scott- so glad to hear from you. I am so happy that you enjoyed your lovely birthday weekend. Tom also enjoys mint chocolate and dogs. We secretly call him the dog whisperer just like you! You really seem to enjoy everything you do. Thank you for sharing! Hope to see you soon! Love to all!

  10. Nadia Shpachenko October 18, 2019 at 1:00 am #

    Happy Birthday, Scott! My very best wishes, Nadia

  11. Andrea Wolper October 18, 2019 at 3:12 am #

    Happy birthday to you! I’m a dog lover, too!

  12. Simon Mulligan October 18, 2019 at 1:20 pm #

    What a glorious day – Happy Birthday, Scott! Always a pleasure to read your poetry, thank you for sharing. I’ve tried chocolate mint tea, (it’s awful); I’ll stick to the cake in future.

    • Barbara Kessler October 21, 2019 at 10:51 am #

      What a wonderful day! Happy belated birthday and thank you for sharing all the lovely things about your day.
      32 was an excellent age for me; I’ll bet it is for you too.

  13. Leo Sarkissian October 18, 2019 at 5:20 pm #

    Scott –
    i was heading to your Dylan post when i saw this one on your birthday. what a beautiful day; i also love the pic with Kishka; someday will have to read your labra-doodle post!

  14. Adrienne Szafranski October 18, 2019 at 10:05 pm #

    Congratulations on your 32nd year! It sounds like a fantastic celebration!

  15. rainperry October 19, 2019 at 10:06 pm #

    Sounds like a lot of fun. Happy birthday!

  16. Steven Carr October 20, 2019 at 9:17 pm #

    Happy Birthday, Scott. Always enjoy reading what you post!

  17. oenkennedy October 21, 2019 at 12:21 am #

    Dear Scott, I enjoyed another installment of your awesome birthday experiences. I love dogs too, and my favorite kind of dog is the Golden Retriever. I had a Golden Retriever named Bumblebee when I was a child. I named her “Bumblebee” because she was a deep gold-copper color and the contrast between those two colors reminded me of the black-yellow contrast of a bumblebee. I also appreciated that you got a Dunkin gift card. If someone gave me one of those I would get a Chocolate Frosted Doughnut, a Glazed Doughnut, and a small hot tea with cream and extra sugar. That’s what I always get at Dunkin Doughnuts. If they didn’t have Glazed, I would get a Jelly Doughnut instead. But if they didn’t have any of them, I would probably not get anything because my preferences for my favorites are very strong.

  18. Amy Laurent October 21, 2019 at 1:40 am #

    Sounds like a super fun day creating of wonderful memories!

  19. Melissa Ulcena October 21, 2019 at 2:04 pm #

    I’m going to have to try some chocolate mint cake now! I’m happy you had a good time Scott! See you soon.

  20. Tanya Savko October 22, 2019 at 12:49 am #

    Sounds like you had a special birthday celebration! Enjoy your next year of life!

  21. Ashleigh Hillier October 28, 2019 at 1:02 pm #

    Sounds fabulous Scott! Must have been lovely to be on the beach on your birthday. Cake sounds amazing too! Thanks for sharing.

  22. Jordan Rich October 29, 2019 at 11:11 pm #

    Happy Birthday Scott. Great to see you happy and creative!

  23. Leo Abrahams November 11, 2019 at 8:41 am #

    Great stuff Scott! Nothing better than having people over to the house – I just did the same for my own birthday (but without the dog). All the best to you.

  24. Craig November 11, 2019 at 3:33 pm #

    Scott. You were remembered and surrounded with love (by all sorts of mammals). Birthday’s don’t get any better than that! Happy belated! Craig

Leave a comment