My 30th Birthday Celebrations

29 Aug

During the past few weeks, I entered my fourth decade in my life as I turned 30 on the 18th. As soon as I turned 29 last year, I felt like I had a good sense of what would life could be like in my 30s. I celebrated this milestone year first with a surprise party organized by family and friends on the 12th, then on the 18th with a night out at the upscale Mexican restaurant, and finally on the 19th, a family run party for me in Marshfield. The days were filled with many excitable moments and was a great introduction for life in this new decade.

On the afternoon of Saturday, August 12th, I attended my second cousin Tim Murphy’s annual summer cookout with my family at his house in Cohasset. Not only did my immediate family attend, but also my Aunt Lorraine and many relatives from Dad’s mother’s side. It was also joyful to see Tim and wife Courtney’s two young daughters, Vivianna and Francesca, at the party. After the cookout ended, I headed into Boston to stay at my older brother Brian and his wife Amanda’s apartment in the North End. I initially thought Amanda was going to go out to dinner with her friends at a work a nice restaurant, but I would be in for a surprise later on that night.

The night began with discussion that Brian and I would meet his friend Rich Kei at the local restaurant/bar The Living Room for drinks. When Brian and I walked into into The Living Room, we were approached by friends and family members who carefully hid in the main room at the restaurant. It was at this moment that the guests yelled “Surprise!” to me. The guests consisted of Mom, Dad, my younger brother Keith, Amanda’s father Jim Smith, Brian and Rich’s friend Anthony Leone and his wife Sarah, and Amanda’s friends Liv Fahey and Marisha Gadowski with her fiance Spencer.

Me with the gang on my surprise party

At the surprise party, I received many great gifts from friends and family. They included a framed picture of me with Amanda’s golden retriever Summer, a dog themed calendar, and several cases of beer. There were also delicious foods, such as buffalo chicken apps and birthday cinnamon French toast sticks, and a mostly 80s music playlist supplied by the DJ. The guests and I were dancing to the music that blared from the background and we talked about what 30 years of life has meant to me. The surprise party was a truly great event and easily one of my favorite birthday parties of all time.

On my actual birthday, Friday the 18th, I went to out to eat at Besito, an upscale Mexican restaurant located inside the Burlington Mall. I went with Mom, Dad, Keith, and Keith’s girlfriend Malorie. Brian and Amanda were unable to attend since they were at a friend of Amanda’s wedding in the Cape for that weekend. I chose this restaurant since it fell on the annual Restaurant Week of August in Massachusetts. For the meals, I got quesadillas and several small tacos. I enjoy Mexican cuisine and choosing this place was ideal for my big 30th birthday.

Me with Dublin and Eddie on my 30th birthday Last but not least, yet another birthday party took place, the following day, Saturday the 19th. Mom and I set up my grandmother’s beach house in Marshfield to include special 30th birthday materials. Many of my relatives showed up including my cousins Siobhan, Ryan, Henry, Luke, Connor and Dylan, as well as Keith and Malorie, Aunt Lorraine, Aunt Sheila and her husband Bob, Uncle Sean and his wife Lynne, Aunt Kathy, and Uncles Larry and Kevin. There were even canine visitors in the form of Dublin, Siobhan’s chocolate lab mix and Eddie, a Brittany Spaniel mix. The party was held at Nana’s house since my beach house is still in the process of being revitalized. The beach that day was warm and foggy, but pleasant weather for the day.

This year, my birthday cake was a chocolate mint chip cake from Sweetcakes in Marshfield. I am a huge fan of chocolate mint cakes and this cake was no exception. The earlier dinner had consisted of chicken parm and other Italian dishes catered from Mamma Mia’s in Marshfield. I received even more gifts that day, including an Alexa speaker from my parents, several checks, a golden retriever logo themed koozie and golden retriever themed pillow from Siobhan and several Amazon gift cards. It was a fabulous birthday celebration filled with many great people and a few dogs as well and a true day to remember.

 

12 Responses to “My 30th Birthday Celebrations”

  1. Claire August 29, 2017 at 5:55 pm #

    Sounds like a fantastic birthday with many great celebrations! You are very loved, Scott.

  2. Tanya Neff August 29, 2017 at 7:44 pm #

    Happy Belated Birthday Scott! Sounds like you got the celebration you deserve!!

  3. Deb Wood March 20, 2018 at 4:55 pm #

    Scott, it sounds like your birthday was one non-stop party with people who really love you! Everyone should be so lucky! Happy Belated Birthday- Deb Wood

  4. Abby Frucht April 11, 2018 at 7:47 pm #

    This is all so great to hear, Scott. I’m glad you had such a great birthday, surrounded by loving friends and family. You’re lucky to have so many people in your life!

  5. dan zanes April 12, 2018 at 3:56 am #

    Wow!! That’s an amazing string of celebrations, Scott! Happy birthday to you! I think you’re going to really enjoy your 30’s….

  6. Greg O'Brien April 15, 2018 at 7:03 pm #

    Great writing; keep it up, proud of you! O’B.

  7. Sissy April 17, 2018 at 3:46 pm #

    Happy birthday Scott! What a beautiful celebration! Enjoy your 30’s!!

  8. slentine2010 April 19, 2018 at 3:24 pm #

    From what I remember, some of the 80s songs played there included “St. Elmo’s Fire (Man in Motion)” by John Parr, “Caribbean Queen” by Billy Ocean, “Power of the Night” by Terrence Mann from the movie “Critters” and “Sussudio” from Phil Collins.

  9. Brian Durkin April 20, 2018 at 1:29 am #

    Glad you had such a great birthday Scott! Thanks for sharing.

  10. Ellen Seidman April 23, 2018 at 2:02 am #

    Way to welcome in 30, Scott!

  11. Neal Braverman May 3, 2018 at 12:54 am #

    Dear Scott, It sounds as if your Family and Friends really made year number 30 a total blast for you. You so deserve it. Keep up your wonderful Spirit of Life Scott and ALL of us on your email list as always rooting for you and all in your Family & Friends. Thanks as always sharing with me as part of your Friends list as it means so much. Happy Birthday my Dear Scott and we’ll look forward to the next one!! Always, Neal :)))

  12. Judy Hyman May 5, 2018 at 10:12 pm #

    Hi, Scott, I love reading about your wonderful birthday celebration. Here’s to many more!

Leave a comment